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RULE-MAKING ORDER 
PERMANENT RULE ONLY 

 

 

CODE REVISER USE ONLY 
 

 

CR-103P (December 2017) 
(Implements RCW 34.05.360) 

Agency: Washington State Patrol 
Effective date of rule: 

Permanent Rules 

☒     31 days after filing. 

☐     Other (specify)       (If less than 31 days after filing, a specific finding under RCW 34.05.380(3) is required and should 

be stated below) 

Any other findings required by other provisions of law as precondition to adoption or effectiveness of rule? 

☐ Yes     ☒ No     If Yes, explain:       

Purpose: WAC 446-65-010(1) needs to be amended to bring all the Code of Federal Regulations adopted by 
reference current to April 25, 2025. 

Citation of rules affected by this order: 
New:   
Repealed:  

Amended: WAC 446-65-010 
Suspended:       

Statutory authority for adoption: RCW 46.32.020 and 46.48.170 

Other authority:       

PERMANENT RULE (Including Expedited Rule Making) 

Adopted under notice filed as WSR 25-16-103 on 08/06/2025 (date). 

Describe any changes other than editing from proposed to adopted version:  
 
 

If a preliminary cost-benefit analysis was prepared under RCW 34.05.328, a final cost-benefit analysis is available by 
contacting: 

Name:       

Address:       

Phone:       

Fax:       

TTY:       

Email:       

Web site:       

Other:       
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Note:   If any category is left blank, it will be calculated as zero. 
No descriptive text. 

 
Count by whole WAC sections only, from the WAC number through the history note. 

A section may be counted in more than one category. 

The number of sections adopted in order to comply with: 

Federal statute:  New      Amended 1 Repealed       

Federal rules or standards:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Recently enacted state statutes:  New  Amended  Repealed   

 

The number of sections adopted at the request of a nongovernmental entity: 

New        Amended      Repealed       

 

The number of sections adopted on the agency’s own initiative: 

New    Amended  Repealed   

 

The number of sections adopted in order to clarify, streamline, or reform agency procedures: 

New    Amended  Repealed   

 

The number of sections adopted using: 

Negotiated rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Pilot rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

Other alternative rule making:  New      Amended      Repealed       

 

Date Adopted:  9/10/2025 
 

Name: John R. Batiste 
 

Title: Chief 

Signature: 

 
 

 



AMENDATORY SECTION (Amending WSR 23-17-158, filed 8/23/23, effective 
10/1/23)

WAC 446-65-010  Transportation requirements.  (1) The Washington 
state patrol hereby adopts the following parts of Title 49 Code of 
Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), as they exist on ((October 1, 2023)) 
April 25, 2025, for motor carriers used in intrastate or interstate 
commerce in their entirety:

(a) Part 40 Procedures for transportation workplace drug and al-
cohol testing programs.

(b) Part 325 Compliance with interstate motor carrier noise emis-
sion standards.

(c) Part 350 Commercial motor carrier safety assistance program.
(d) Part 355 Compatibility of state laws and regulations affect-

ing interstate motor carrier operations.
(e) Part 365 Rules governing applications for operating authori-

ty.
(f) Part 367 Standards for registration with states.
(g) Part 372 Exemptions, commercial zones and terminal areas.
(h) Part 373 Receipts and bills.
(i) Part 376 Lease and interchange of vehicles.
(j) Part 379 Preservation of records.
(k) Part 380 Special training requirements.
(l) Part 381 Waivers, exemptions, and pilot programs.
(m) Part 382 Controlled substances and alcohol use and testing.
(n) Part 383 Compliance with commercial driver's license program.
(o) Part 385 Safety fitness procedures.
(p) Part 387 Minimum levels of financial responsibility for motor 

carriers.
(q) Part 390 General.
(r) Part 391 Qualification of drivers. Provided that 49 C.F.R. 

391 subpart D (Tests), and E (Physical Qualifications and Examina-
tions) do not apply to motor carriers operating vehicles with gross 
vehicle weight rating between 10,001 lbs. and 26,000 lbs. operating 
intrastate, and not used to transport hazardous materials in a quanti-
ty requiring placarding.

(s) Part 392 Driving of motor vehicles.
(t) Part 393 Parts and accessories necessary for safe operation.
(u) Part 395 Hours of service of drivers: Except if a company has 

drivers of commercial motor vehicle of any size, hauling logs from the 
point of production or driving in dump truck operations in intrastate 
commerce provided that:

(i) The driver must:
(A) Operate within a 100 air-mile radius of the location where 

the driver reports to work and the driver must return to the work re-
porting location at the end of each duty tour;

(B) Have at least 10 consecutive hours off duty separating each 
on-duty period;

(C) Not drive:
• More than 12 hours following at least 10 hours off duty; or
• After the 14th hour after coming on duty on at least five days 

of any period of seven consecutive days; and
• After the 16th hour after coming on duty on no more than two 

days of any period of seven consecutive days; and
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• After having been on duty for 80 hours in seven consecutive 
days if the employing motor carrier does not operate commercial motor 
vehicle every day of the week; or

• After having been on duty for 90 hours in eight consecutive 
days if the employing motor carrier operates commercial motor vehicle 
every day of the week; in any period of seven or eight consecutive 
days may end with the beginning of any off-duty period of 24 or more 
consecutive hours.

(ii) The motor carrier that employs the driver must maintain and 
retain for a period of 12 months accurate and true time recordings 
showing:

(A) The time the driver reports for duty each day;
(B) The total number of hours the driver is on duty each day;
(C) The total number of hours the driver drives each day;
(D) The time the driver is released from duty each day; and
(E) The total time the driver is driving and on duty for the pre-

ceding seven days.
(v) Part 396 Inspection, repair, and maintenance.
(w) Part 397 Transportation of hazardous materials; driving and 

parking rules.
(2) As provided in Part 395, exemption for agricultural trans-

porters, the harvest dates are defined in RCW 46.32.130.
(3) Links to the C.F.R. are available on the Washington state pa-

trol website at www.wsp.wa.gov. Copies of the C.F.R. may also be or-
dered through the United States Government Printing Office, 732 N. 
Capitol Street N.W., Washington, D.C. 20401.
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